Science Olympiad Awards

Spirit Awards

At the state tournament, Spirit Awards are presented to recognize a school that exemplifies the “spirit” of the Science Olympiad Program, members that work together toward a common goal, and teams that compete while displaying honesty, integrity, and sportsmanship.

Nomination forms are available at the state tournament.

  • 2014: Harriton High School (Division C) & Bala Cynwyd Middle School (Division B) for their support of the Urban Initiative; Devon Preparatory School (Division B) for upholding the integrity of Science Olympiad
  • 2012: East Hills Middle School (Division B), Spring Grove High School (Division C)
  • 2011: Bala Cynwyd Middle School (Division B), Bishop McDevitt High School (Division C)
  • 2010: Whitehall Coplay Middle School (Division B), Abington Heights High School (Division C)

Pennsylvania “Heart of Science Olympiad” Award

Given in Memory and Honor of Richard “Dick” Smith

In 2013 Pennsylvania Science Olympiad introduced the “Heart of Science Olympiad” award presented to those who go above and beyond in promoting Science Olympiad across Pennsylvania.

The Pennsylvania Heart of Science Olympiad Award is given to someone who has made a long-time commitment to Pennsylvania Science Olympiad and had an impact on students from many schools.

The nominee need not be a coach but must have a commitment to Pennsylvania Science Olympiad by supporting more than one school, team, or tournament.

About Richard Smith
Dick became Director of Pennsylvania Science Olympiad at its onset in 1985. He and his wife, Mimi, ran Pennsylvania Science Olympiad for twenty-six years.

In that time, the program grew from thirty plus schools competing at one State Tournament at Harrisburg Community College to around three hundred schools competing in six Regional Tournaments with the best from each region competing in the State Tournament. Dick really took to Heart all of Science Olympiad and what a great program it is for Pennsylvania’s students.

Others have contributed greatly to Pennsylvania Science Olympiad along the way, so this award is designed to recognize this individual for their commitment to Pennsylvania’s Science Olympiad Program.

Requirements and Nomination 

  • must be involved in Science Olympiad for at least ten (10) years
  • may be a teacher or someone from the community or industry
  • must be involved in promoting Science Olympiad beyond their school or for multiple schools (examples: Regional and/or State Event Supervisor, Regional Event Supervisor Coordinator, Workshop organizer and/or presenter, Invitational Director, etc.).

Anyone can nominate a person for the award. The deadline for nominations is January 31. 

The award will be presented at the State Tournament.

  • 2013: Ron Pauline and Carli Yeager-Hall
  • 2016: Dave Moyer
  • 2017: Scott Leggett